Congressional Art Competition winners announced

  • February 04, 2019

Lewiston and Falmouth students win Congressional Art Competition 

AUGUSTA, ME—The Maine Arts Commission is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Congressional Art Competition: Carolyn Adams of Lewiston High School in Lewiston and Julia Lee of Falmouth High School in Falmouth. 

The Congressional Institute sponsors a nationwide high school visual art competition every year to recognize and encourage artistic talent in each congressional district. Maine’s winners representing the state’s two congressional districts were chosen by a panel of jurors appointed by the Maine Arts Commission.

The judges unanimously chose the photograph ‘Dizzy’ by Carolyn Adams as the winner from Maine’s Second District, which captures a dancer inside an old New England building.

“Dizzy takes the viewer out of the present, into a world of illusion,” said juror Cynthia Orcutt. “The heaviness of the old masonry structure is offset by multiple delicate, rounded windows and the lightness of a spinning young dancer’s dress, hair and arms moving in front of them. The selection is a poetic and elegant expression of creativity occurring in one of in Maine’s Second District’s oldest cities.” 

Other jurors selected Julia Lee’s drawing ‘Facet’ as the winner from Maine’s First District.  “Julia’s piece is a masterful work of art on many levels,” said juror Beth Van Mierlo. “The reflection of light in the eye, the reflective image mirrored back on the surface of the table and soft technique used to render the blurred jar of water made this piece a winner.”

Since this competition began in 1982, more than 650,000 high school students have participated, according to the U.S. House of Representatives website.

Both first place students will have their artwork on display at the U.S. Capitol for one year and will be offered respective scholarships to attend Maine College of Art in Portland. All recognized artwork will be on exhibit at the Maine State House in Augusta during the spring of 2019.

Other student recipients include:

1st District: 1st Runner Up Sam Kemmerer of Portland High School; 2nd Runner Up Katie Han of Falmouth High School; and Honorable Mentions: Wanqi Su of Kents Hill; Elwen Bernard of Baxter Academy; and Autumn Heil of Portland Arts & Technology High School.

2nd District: First Runner Up: Asha Shueyb of Lewiston High School; Second Runner Up: Joey Sprague of Oxford Hills High School. Honorable Mentions:  Isaac Wardwell of George Stevens Academy; Jihwan Hwang Li of Hebron Academy, and Culiandra Nero of Oxford Hills High School. 


For more information visit


Maine Arts Commission News Maine Arts Blog Highlights

Filter Press Releases

Name or Keyword


Date Range

Contact Information

Ryan Leighton

193 State Street
SHS 25
Augusta  ME  04333