Maine Arts Commission Announces Winners of 2023 Congressional Art Competition

  • April 19, 2023

Maine Arts Commission Announces Winners of 2023 Congressional Art Competition


AUGUSTA ME - The Maine Arts Commission is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Congressional Art Competition: Jillian Wight of Freeport High School and Ella Shilkin of Kents Hill School. The annual competition, sponsored by the Maine Scholastic Awards, recognizes, and encourages artistic talent from each congressional district nationwide. Maine’s winners were chosen by a panel of jurors appointed by the Maine Arts Commission.


Ella Shilkin’s photographic portrait of a teenage boy standing near a window won first place in Maine’s Second District.  Juror Gerald Walsh noted the unique quality of the light and advanced composition of the piece, calling it “powerful.” Wight’s drawing titled “Family Room” won in Maine’s Second District, with juror Anna Dibble praising its perspective, dazzling color choices, and powerful overall impact.


The winners’ artwork will be displayed at the U.S. Capitol for one year. Since the competition began in 1982, more than 650,000 high school students have participated.


Some of the recognized artwork from Maine’s contest, with the exception of the first-place winners, is on display at the Burton Cross Building in the state capitol complex through May 2023.


Other student award recipients include Sophia Blanco of Winthrop High School, Cosette Spier of Cape Elizabeth High School, and honorable mentions Finnian Furtney, Rihanna Antoine, and Teagan Slone of Freeport High School.


For more information about the Congressional Art Competition, visit the U.S. House of Representatives website. To learn more about the Maine Arts Commission and its programs, visit


Maine Arts Commission News

Filter Press Releases

Name or Keyword


Date Range

Contact Information

Kimberly Jablon

193 State St
SHS 25
Augusta  ME  04333