Threadbare Theatre Workshop's Artistic Director Wins Princess Grace Award

  • August 05, 2022

news image


PRESS CONTACT: (732)547-3410


DEER ISLE, MAINE (August 4, 2022)– Threadbare Theatre Workshop announces Maine-based theatremaker and Artistic Director Kate Russell as a 2022 Princess Grace Award winner. Russell was nominated for the award by Haystack Mountain School of Crafts.

Kate Russell, Founding Artistic Director of Threadbare Theatre Workshop, is the recipient of the 2022 Princess Grace Award, Robert & Gloria Hausman Theater Honor. The Princess Grace Foundation-USA, founded in memory of Her Serene Highness Princess Grace of Monaco, neé Grace Kelly, identifies extraordinary emerging artists working in theater, dance and film, and nurtures their growth throughout their careers. 

Brisa Carleton, CEO of the Princess Grace Foundation-USA shared, “I am thrilled to celebrate the 2022 Princess Grace Award winners and honoraria. They are a distinguished group of individuals that represent the next generation of artistry.” 

Grace Kelly’s commitment to advance the arts in the United States is sustained by the Princess Grace Awards which supports and elevates extraordinary early career artists in theater, dance and film through game-changing grants; and nurtures and supports Princess Grace Award winners through their careers. Each year, the Princess Grace Foundation (PGF) convenes panelists to serve for the Princess Grace Awards selection process. For 40 years, the PGF has worked with some of the most talented and forward-thinking professionals and luminaries to help identify promising emerging talent. Thanks to these dedicated panelists, the PGF has seen many Princess Grace Award winners go on to have prosperous and distinguished careers. 

“The Princess Grace Award acknowledges not only my work as a theatremaker but the people and communities I have the honor to collaborate with to make it– no artist is self-made. I am deeply grateful to Haystack Mountain School of Crafts for the nomination, and to the Princess Grace Foundation for choosing to support my vision– it is an incredible gift and privilege,” said Russell.  


Kate, a theatremaker and poet, believes storytelling is at the heart of who we are. She is inspired by theatre as collaborative craft to celebrate community, deepen belonging, and rediscover place. As the Founding Artistic Director of Threadbare Theatre Workshop, she adapts, directs, and devises plays in rural places with local people— currently Downeast on Wabanaki land. Kate’s work as a performer, director, and writer has been featured in The New York Times, American Theatre Magazine, The Creators Project, Recipes for Self-Love, and the Portland Press Herald. Kate holds a BFA in Theater from Rutgers, and spent her most formative year in residence at Shakespeare’s Globe. In 2018, she was invited as a Visiting Artist to Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, and made her home on Deer Isle soon after.


Threadbare Theatre Workshop illuminates epics in a simple way through the magic of resourceful storytelling; laying bare our humanity so we may thread more empathy into existence. We welcome community members as crucial collaborators– putting place at the center of their story. We are committed to making theatre from scratch across the local landscape, engaging its people and alternative spaces to foster creative partnerships within the community. We continue to celebrate and elevate the heritage of rural places, teaming up with denizens to devise an original work through collective creation. 


The Princess Grace Foundation-USA is dedicated to honoring the legacy of Her Serene Highness Princess Grace of Monaco, neé Grace Kelly. A 501(c)3 not-for-profit based in New York City, the Foundation was established in 1982 by Prince Rainier III of Monaco to honor His wife, Princess Grace of Monaco and Her legacy. Since the Foundation’s inception, we have awarded over 800 recipients. Notable Princess Grace Award winners include: Emmy Award winner Cary Fukunaga, director of 007’s No Time to Die; Jon M. Chu director of Crazy Rich Asians and In the Heights; Sundance Grand Jury Prize winner Chinonye Chukwu, Tony Award winner director, Anna Shapiro; Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award winner playwright Tony Kushner; Golden Globe Award winner Oscar Isaac; and Tony Award winner Leslie Odom, Jr, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater Artistic Director Robert Battle; American Ballet Theatre’s Gillian Murphy and Isabella Boylston and New York City Ballet’s Tiler Peck, and choreographers Kyle Abraham and Camille A. Brown. 



Filter Press Releases

Name or Keyword


Date Range

Contact Information

Threadbare Theatre Workshop

Blue Hill
Blue Hill   ME  04614