Congressional Art Competition
Congressional Art Competition header image

2023 Congressional Art Award Winners

The Maine Arts Commission is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Congressional Art Competition: 


This year's top finishers by district include: 


1st District: Winner Jillian Wight of Freeport High School; Second Place Winner Sophia Blanco of Winthrop High School; Third Place Winner Cosette Spier of Cape Elizabeth High School. Honorable Mentions:  Finnian Furtney of Freeport High School; Rihanna Antoine of Freeport High School; and Teagan Slone of Freeport High School. 

2nd District: Winner Ella Shilkin of Kents Hill School; Second Place Winner Caroline Sheets of Oxford Hills Tech School; Third Place Winner Asher Michalski. Honorable Mentions:  Kaila Danielson of Kents Hill School; Ava Katz of Kents Hill School; and Sarah Gruhl of Kents Hill School. 


The annual competition, sponsored by the Maine Scholastic Awards, recognizes, and encourages artistic talent from each congressional district nationwide. Maine’s winners were chosen by a panel of jurors appointed by the Maine Arts Commission.

The Congressional Institute sponsors a nationwide high school visual art competition every year to recognize and encourage artistic talent in each congressional district. Since this competition began in 1982, more than 650,000 high school students have participated, according to the U.S. House of Representatives website.



About the Congressional Art Awards

The Congressional Art Competition began in 1982 to provide an opportunity for Members of Congress to encourage and recognize the artistic talents of their young constituents. Since then, over 700,000 high school students have competed for the honor of having their work shown in the U.S. Capitol.

The competition is open to all high school students. The overall winner of each participating district will have the opportunity to have their work displayed in the Cannon Tunnel of the U.S. Capitol for the entire year, beginning in June. In addition, winners will be flown to Washington, D.C. for the official opening of the show in June.

The Maine Arts Commission partners with the Maine College of Art (MECA) and the National Scholastic Art and Writing Awards to select the artwork. Artwork that MECA has invited to exhibit for the annual Maine Regional Scholastic Art Awards are automatically submitted to be juried for the Congressional Art Competition.

For information about the Congressional Art Competition please contact Kimberly Jablon of the Maine Arts Commission, at vog.eniam@nolbaj.ylrebmik or 207-287-6571.