Yarmouth and Bangor students win National Congressional Art Competition

  • April 13, 2022

Yarmouth and Bangor students win National Congressional Art Competition 

AUGUSTA, ME—The Maine Arts Commission is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Congressional Art Competition: Dorcas Bolese of Yarmouth High School and Hannah Wojdakowski of Bangor High School. 

The Congressional Institute sponsors a nationwide high school visual art competition every year to recognize and encourage artistic talent in each congressional district. Maine’s winners representing the state’s two congressional districts were chosen by a panel of jurors appointed by the Maine Arts Commission. The winner’s artworks will be on display at the U.S. Capitol for one year. 

The judges chose a self-portrait painting by Dorcas Bolese as the winner from Maine’s First District. 

“The design, drawing and painting are masterful, with a very successful use of the medium, said juror Arlene Kelly. The use of color and value are exceptionally well done. As a portrait it is excellent showing sophisticated skill and engaging expression.”

Lisa Mossel Vietze, another juror added “ The subtleties in the way the artist handled the highlights and shadows in this portrait shows a deep and nuanced understanding of color and reveals the artist’s keen eye.”

Jurors from Maine’s Second District selected “Inside” a painting by Hannah Wojdakowski as the winner.

“I love this piece because I recognize the balance between freedom and strategy of the overall composition,” said juror Sam. E. Cote. Every brush stroke seems thoughtfully placed, but freely painted. The artist successfully pulls you through the entire piece just based on the color, flow and movement of the brush strokes.” 

In Hannah’s painting there is a bold star in the upper half of the image “that pulls you in and provides a sense of grounding,” added another juror, Mary McManus.  This piece has a wonderful flow and almost dance to it.” 

Since this competition began in 1982, more than 650,000 high school students have participated, according to the U.S. House of Representatives website.

All recognized artwork will be on exhibit at the Center for Maine Contemporary Art, in Rockland, May 14-21.  A reception for students, parents and teachers will be held on May 21, at 1:00 PM.

Other student award recipients include:

1st District: Second Place Winner Jillian Wight of Freeport High School; Third Place Winner Julia Bell of Baxter Academy for Technology and Science; Honorable Mentions: Katherine Callahan of Cape Elizabeth High School;Trevor Campbell of Brunswick High School; and Rachel Fox of Thornton Academy.  

 2nd District: Second Place Winner Ava Blanchette of Lewiston High School; Third Place Winner Ella Shaffer of Rangeley Lakes Regional School. Honorable Mentions:  Ahmednur Isaaq of Lewiston High School; Erik Carson of Edward Little High School; and Kaycee McGuire of Narraguagus High School. 




Front Page Highlights

Filter Press Releases

Name or Keyword


Date Range

Contact Information

Ryan Leighton

193 State Street
SHS 25
Augusta  ME  04333